Samsung UE46B8000 - Help!!! - Dreadful picture using the EXT (GRB) breakout connector to SCART for my Sky+ box

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi

Apologies, but I am very new to the world of flat panels and HD content... having stuck to my Sony CRT and Toshiba Rear Projection sets and avoided the tempation of Plasma or LCD and HD content for so long.

However, having spent hours trawling through various reviews and speaking to people who have bought this set, I have plumped for the Samsung UE46B8000 LCD (LED backlit) TV. Persuaded finally by the £200.00 cashback offer from Samsung and the Costco price of £1,609.00 including a 5 year warranty and a 90 day money back guarantee.

I picked up the set last night and took it out of the box, wow, aesthetically it is a great looking TV and sits very nicely in my lounge.

So, I connected it to my Sky+ box (non HD) via the EXT (RGB) breakout cable and using a QED SCART lead. I do not currently have any HD setup or bluray player. I will be upgrading to Sky HD, but wanted to get the TV first.

The resultant picture is terrible, it is blurred, pixilated, patchy, cloudy and has ghosting... I tried a film on sky and the credits were just about unreadable as it was so dark. I have tried playing with the settings using various suggested ones from various forums, and trying my own combinations... and whilst some of them have helped the general look, the pixelation and ghosting is still very apparent.

So the question is...

Is this way of connecting Sky+ just not right ?

Has anyone else tried connecting using this EXT (RGB) connection for Sky+ ?

And if so, do you have the same issues ?

Perhaps there is an issue with the connection itself on the TV or the cable, but how would I know ? is it possible to test these ?

Or perhaps this particular set is just dodgy !!!