Ruark Prologue one - need help on amplifiers

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi I am new to the What Hi Fi forums, and after much searching I am still at a loss for what to do to rectify my current issues with my Setup, so I thought I would actively seek assistance

I have 2 pairs of Ruark Prologue Ones and Ruark Dialog One connected to a Yamaha DSP A2 amplifier for general Home cinema Duties, as sources I have a PVR, DVD Recorder and old CD player

As I have not bothered to upgrade my TV from the rear projection set I have used for 8 years the quality of the video sources is not that relevant

I have become quite disillusion with the sound produced by this system and from all reviews I have read it would suggest that the Ruark speakers should be good enough, I am therefore looking for an Amplifier that would be a good match, I am looking for more transparency through the mid range and better seperation.....Simple music such as Tracey Chapman sounds reasonable, but something more complex, Fugees 'ready or not' shows the system to be lacking with stereo steering. I am looking to get a stereo amp and use that to drive the front speakers in multi channel and stereo, using the main out on the Yamaha. Eventually I will upgrade the CD player and DVD player, for now I want a Good Stereo Amp

I have considered the Cyrus 6xp, the Exposure 2010s all the way down to a Rotel RA-05se, working on the premise that anything will be a great leap...question is how far a leap can I get with these speakers and a new amp?

Welcome to the forum, paulcurtis.

It's a bit tricky. I've not heard your particular Ruarks, but as you say, they were quite well thought of in their day. The Sabre III I heard and loved, so I'm assuming your Ruarks will have like-for-like character to the Sabres.

Yamaha A2 is interesting: this brand is highly thought of on this forum, and having heard the latest CDP from the company, I can understand why...