Restoring Vinyl

JonB1001

Jul 31, 2014
Visit site
Following a recent upgrade to Rega RP3/Brio R, a lot of snap, crackle and pop is now very evident on some of my older vinyl. This is stuff I've had since I was a student in the early 1990s when my priorities didn't include looking after future classic LPs! For example, I was enjoying Isaac Hayes' 18 minute rendition of "By The Time I Get To Phoenix" off the Hot Buttered Soul LP but was slightly distracted by the fact it appeared Isaac was also deep fat frying chips in the back ground!

Any recommendations?

You could get them cleaned on a professional machine if you have a good dealer in you neighbourhood. Failing that you could have a go yourself using the Knosti Disco Antistat device. However, if they are too far gone there is no recovery, apart from buying another copy.

Jim-W

Jul 29, 2013
Visit site
I've got a feeling that the fat-frying crackle was just Isaac preparing for his future role as Chef in South Park as he was recording. I wouldn't worry about it.

Seriously, look at the gooves of your record. What is it that's causing the noise? Are they dirty, mouldy or scratched? You should be able to see something if the record is making that much noise.

As Al said, if it's scratches you'll have to get new copies, but it sounds like the grooves are clogged with dirt to me.

thescarletpronster

Nov 17, 2012
Visit site
I second the vote for a Knosti Disco-Antistat. If you've just got a few affected LPs, then it'll probably be easier to take them into a hi-fi or second-hand record shop (if any still exist where you live) to get them professionally cleaned, and if you're super-serious about cleanliness of vinyl you might want to splash out several hundred pounds on one of these machines for yourself, but if you have lots of vinyl that's dirty and just want it to sound good, a Knosti is a very good compromise.