Really confused about Studio/Hi-Fi Speakers

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello everybody,

I think this topic have been done a lot of times but i want to explain my situation, thank you for reading.

I'm a student (so don't have lot of money) but i'm really fond of music and Hi-Fi. I'm actually producing a little bit of music just for the pleasure, i'm also playing piano and listening to all kinds of music : Classical, Electronic/House music, Pop, rock, and sometimes a bit of Hip-Hop.

I've already had some set of speakers like the Yamaha's HS80 (i didn't enjoy them, found them without dynamic, without soul). Now, i have a pair of FOCAL XS, i know they aren't really studio speaker but they match my expectations, good sound and they don't take too much place !

I'm looking now for "REAL" studio/hi-fi speakers, i can spend 500 Euros, and i've already look for the B&W's 685 and the Arcaydis DM1.

What do you think about this ? And did you have any suggestions ?

Thank you very much (sorry for the faults in english, it's not my mother language)

A

Anonymous

Hello Student,

Studio speakers are designed to give the music without any soul. Of course there are exeptions ( B&W Nautilus etc. ) But then we are talking about a different price range. I have the feeling that is not what you are looking for.

Maybe you can give a summery of your hifi setup so the people here can give you some suggestions of what they think what speakers will match with your amplifier, cd player etc. Last but not least; if possible try the speakers at home before buying.

Good luck!

Overdose

Feb 8, 2008
Visit site
Ocean37 said:
Studio speakers are designed to give the music without any soul. Of course there are exeptions ( B&W Nautilus etc. ) But then we are talking about a different price range. I have the feeling that is not what you are looking for.