Quick Question on speaker stands and needed plate size for KEF Q300; recommendations welcome!!!

Hi all- I just got a pair of KEF Q300's and running a Marantz PM6005. I LOVE it so far but as I'm new to the Hi-Fi game I have a question on speakers stands. When I see the top plate size on a stand, how big does it need to be for the KEF Q300's? As in, the KEF's are 355 x 210 x 302 mm (14.0 x 8.3 x 11.9 in.). What size top plate do I need? Do they need to be at least 8.3 x 11.9 inches or is smaller ok? On that note, any recommended picks? I liked the mosseco 6 but are they too small?? HELP ME! I'd prefer something that wasn't super brutalist and had 4 seperate columns...would prefer something more clean, ideally with some wood incorporated.

Patrick

http://www.atacama-audio.co.uk/p/moseco-6-speaker-stands-pair?pp=24

BigH

Dec 29, 2012
Visit site
Patrick Gerbracht said:
Hi all- I just got a pair of KEF Q300's and running a Marantz PM6005. I LOVE it so far but as I'm new to the Hi-Fi game I have a question on speakers stands. When I see the top plate size on a stand, how big does it need to be for the KEF Q300's? As in, the KEF's are 355 x 210 x 302 mm (14.0 x 8.3 x 11.9 in.). What size top plate do I need? Do they need to be at least 8.3 x 11.9 inches or is smaller ok? On that note, any recommended picks? I liked the mosseco 6 but are they too small?? HELP ME! I'd prefer something that wasn't super brutalist and had 4 seperate columns...would prefer something more clean, ideally with some wood incorporated.

Patrick

Smaller is ok, mine are about 2/3 of the base of the speaker. Stick them on with blutac or blacktac. I'd look at Custom Design but they are a bit more money. Height is a consideration, get the height so when in listening position your ears are about the same height as the tweeters.

BigH said:
Patrick Gerbracht said:

Patrick