Projector advice wanted!

Audioholic

Feb 6, 2009
Visit site
Hi all

There seem to be a whole load of projector options right now.

I'm considering making the move to the big screen in my lounge to get a cinema experience. I'm not in a rush to buy anything so just wanted to find out some more information coming as a complete newbie to the area of projection!

I expect it depends to some extent on exact room conditions, and maybe 'throw distances' etc, but I just wondered how much it is generally advised is split between spending on a projector screen and the projector itself? Also if I took the time to read online would it be possible to set up a projector myself or is it definitely recommended to get a dealer or other professional to install?

One other important issue is does the fact that the lounge has cream walls and wooden floor, which I suppose would potentially be reflective, negate the point of buying a more expensive projector over say a sub £1000-1100 bracket model, or with the right screen would there still be significant advantages stretching to a projector with a higher contrast, such as an end of line jvc hd 350. I'm thinking of about an 90 inch screen. I suppose a home demo of a projector with a dealer would solve some of these questions, but I'm interested to know your thoughts guys first!

If it's considered that a lot of advantages of a projector like the JVC hd350 or even an epson tw5500 would be wasted if not used with a screen that costs a lot of money, then I'd try to get a better balanced combination! If a screen to do these level of projectors sufficient justice to make it worthwhile over cheaper projectors won't cost more than £500 say though, I'd contemplate looking at them - I picked out those 2 models because there seem to be big reductions off their original RRP on both!

Thanks

Cookie Monster

Jan 25, 2010
Visit site
Hi, I am a PJ owner and highly recommend.