Power amp, or Bi-wire, or new speakers?

• Thread starter Deleted member 160668
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 160668

Hello everyone.

I am a complete hifi beginner so please forgive anything obvious. I am hoping for some pointers from people on here with considerably greater knowledge than me!

I have a humble setup of a Linn Classik Music connected to Bowers and Wilkins 601 S2, single wired at present. I am fortunate to have some funds to spend to improve what I am having and do not know the best thing to do? I have read some reviews but got conflicting messages so hoping I can seek some advice.

I am considering wither upgrading my speakers and leaning towards KEF LS50, or possibly 2nd hand PMC's. The other possible options would be to buy a power amp and biwire my setup and retain my existing speakers until I can afford to upgrade these.

My queston is which has the greatest musical benefit?

1) add a Power amp

2) Biwiring (appreciate can also be with a power amp)

3) best quality speakers I can afford.

I am in search of the best sound quality possible for my budget, and can and will upgrade elements as I can afford them. Which should I pick first?

DocG

May 1, 2012
Visit site
If you go for option 1): be sure to use the pre-outs (thus bypassing the power amp in the Linn, and using it purely as a pre-amp).

Forget option 2): money wasted.

Option 3) is sensible too.

Set a budget. Go to some shops. Be sure to use your own stuff in the demo (if at all possible) --- once you've narrowed your options, see if a home demo is possible, before pulling the trigger.

(personally, I think I'd go for option 1)

Oh, and welcome to the club!

CnoEvil

Aug 21, 2009
Visit site
I have really liked the combination of current Linn amps and LS50s....can you get down to a Linn/Kef dealer and try stuff out?

I too would forget Option 2.

D

Deleted member 160668

Thank you for replies.

I have already looked at a LK85 and these are well within my budget...