pop up ads

pioneer7

Jul 26, 2008
Visit site
Is it me...on certain threads or most there appears a high lighted word, can be any word [in blue] if you scroll over it, or click on it thinking it will take you to some thing conected to the thread an advert pops up either Tesco or Asda, in some cases it will take you to there sight, very annoying,can any one explain, or is it paid advertising from these stores. :wall:

relocated

Jan 20, 2012
Visit site
I'm with Andrew on this. Heaven knows I have highlighted the Stuff, blocking pop-up, annoyance a number of times without anything being done to sort it out but I have no experience of what you describe.

chebby

Jun 2, 2008
Visit site
pioneer7 said:
Is it me...on certain threads or most there appears a high lighted word, can be any word [in blue] if you scroll over it, or click on it thinking it will take you to some thing conected to the thread an advert pops up either Tesco or Asda, in some cases it will take you to there sight, very annoying,can any one explain, or is it paid advertising from these stores. :wall:

How about taking a screen snapshot when it happens and posting a link to it?

Andrew Everard

May 30, 2007
Visit site
pioneer7,

You may be running a browser extension or add-on designed to create automatic hyperlinks when it spots certain words: it's an advertising service, and one you should be able to disable simply by removing the extension, which may be described as a 'browser manager' or something similar.

Which browser are you using? Let me know and I'll have a look for extensions you may be running...

visionary

Apr 4, 2008
Visit site
This happened to me about 2 moths ago and it was a "search" program that had installed into my browser toolbar when I downloaded another program (memo to self always check everything it says on the screen)

The one I had was something.do - sorry I can't remember the "something" but it ended .do