please help me find a simple hi fi solution for playing files from hard drive (with some special requirements)

lastpork

Jul 19, 2013
Visit site
Hello,

I have been listening mostly to LPs lately, but have a great amount of music on my computer, and since LP buying budget is limited for all the music I would like to hear, even if quality suffers a bit, I would like to be able to play these files on my hi fi with as much quality as possible.

I am new to this digital audiophile scene, so I started searching and see that now there are quite a few options around, and basically I came upon the network streamers such as the Marantz NA7004 and the Pioneer N-50. After comparing options and reviews, I think they are good options and fit my budget, even if I am a bit unsure if the Pioneer's screen size is not too small for me.

However they actually have too many features that I won't use and these add to the price. So my reasoning is that if you eliminate all the extras I will probably get a much better machine for the price.

Basically these are my "conditions":

-I don't want to use wifi (in any part of the loop), I will be playing files from the hard drive. So it does not have to be a network player at all.

-I don't want tv, screen, or computer next to the wifi, so whatever the option, it will need to have a screen to select the music. Also I don't want wifi remotes with screens or iphones or otherwise. I know everyone loves them but No wifi!!

-Radio is optional, be it streaming or am/fm

-If I will be investing in hardware with a recent DAC, it would be nice to be able to connect my cd transport to it since I have a dated DAC, which means digital inputs, preferrably coaxial

-In a device like a network streamer or similar, where the transport is strong but the dac might have room for improvement in the future, digital outs would be nice

-It would be great to play high quality 24/192 files, which leaves room for the future