Pioneer SCLX58 or Yamaha RX2040 for B&W CM9 S2?

dominatorhk

Nov 18, 2014
Visit site
Hello!

I am not an expert on Hi-Fi and so I really need some advice for this. I have a pair of B&W CM9 S2 and I am thinking to get a good home cinema amplifier to support them. I am now looking at the Pioneer SC-LX58 and Yamaha RX2040. Both of them look good to me. I know that the SC-LX58 won the 2014 best amp award for £700-£1500 and the RX1040 seemed not as good. However, I was wondering if the RX2040 is a lot better than the RX1040. Therefore, I was struggling to choose between the two. However, I also welcome suggestions for the other brands. *i-m_so_happy*

Many thanks in advance!

Nick

dominatorhk

Nov 18, 2014
Visit site
Is it because the Pioneer SC-LX58 and Yamaha RX2040 are not powerful enough? If I am to go for one of those flagship amps, which one would you prefer? The RX-A3040 or the SC-LX88?

B&W CM9 are big speakers and will benefit from superior amplification of the flagship AV receivers. I like Yamaha personally as I find them more musical and warm, but some prefer the Pioneer as it can be quite forward sounding and a bit bright.

Look at 2013 models which are significantly cheaper, and demo both receivers to see what you prefer.

dominatorhk

Nov 18, 2014
Visit site
Thanks very much for your advice. I will take a look of those models.
regular_smile.gif

Laurens_B

Apr 24, 2014
Visit site
At the moment I have B&W 683 S2 on a Yamaha RX-A2020, not quite the same equipment, but I think in terms of synergy and sound signature very comparable. I think they are a great match. In my experience, Pioneer tends to be a bit brighter, and for me a bit too bright with B&W, but you might experience something different though. Also, the Aventage series are very well reviewed in terms of musical performance, don't know about the Pioneer on that matter.