Panasonic 42V20 solves what TV dilema!

markyd

Mar 21, 2010
Visit site
Just bought a Panasonic 42V20 this weekend.

My wife and I have been looking for a TV to replace my ancient Sony 32" Wega CRT for several months. I am a senior engineer in post production company and my wife is a film editor. Between us, with the exception of the Pioneer 500s which my wife generally requests for work and I use at mine, no LCD/Plasma TV has come close to satisfying our extensive PQ requirements.

I have spent days trawling through umpteen magazine + website reviews, going to John Lewis, Richer sounds, Currys etc, etc to try to find a replacement. I had shortlist after shortlist - but when we eventually saw them 'in the flesh' none had come close to making us want to part with our hard earned cash.

Just to give you an idea of our critial evaluations, the 40" Philips 9704 + 37" 9604, 40" samsung c7000, b8000, b7020, sony hx/nx703 all failed to pass our viewing tests. All were subject to fairly extensive viewing - and fiddling with 'shop' modes when possible.

Through much evaluation we both preferer the look of Plasma pictures, despite current trends towards LED tech. It helps that we both have the Pioneer Kuros for reference. We watch lots of films, and a bit of TV. No football - though I will make an exception for the World Cup!

We had seen and been impressed by the 50VT20, though 3D support is not really of much interest to us - until it is viewable without the ridiculous glasses that is. More to the point the 2D images we saw were excellent. The only downsides were it was both too expensive, and too big. It looked good off, too.