Onkyo TX-SR606 and Kef iQ5

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi,

I'm new at the homecinema world. I've been reading this forum and i think i found a solution for my homecinema setup. My living room is about 55 square meters (around 600 square feet). I like to ear music (cd's and mp3's), music dvd's and also some movies. My budget right now is about 1200 €. I will have a bit more to spend in about a year.

My idea now is to buy front speakers and an AV Receiver. After what i've read, im inclined to:

- Onkyo Tx-SR-606

- 2 x Kef iQ5 as front speakers

- Central speaker from the same iQ range

Do you think this a good setup? Is is a good option for music and casual movie? Will it be easy to transform in a year time in a 5.1 setup? I don't want to upgrade in the near future, will i have a system capable for 10 years? I've also have read about bi-amping, should i do it? And what kind of cables should i use to connect the AV Receiver to the speakers?

Best Regards,

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site
If you're mainly looking at music, I'd go for a stereo amp rather than the AV amp (plenty of choice for the £400 mark). This will give you much better sound for your music and will handle your casual movie watching as well.

If you ever feel like you want to upgrade to 5.1 in future, you can then get an AV amp with pre-outs to allow you to continue running your stereo amp for the front speakers so you won't compromise your hi-fi setup.

fr0g

Jan 7, 2008
Visit site
Agree with prof. Although another option is to get a different AV receiver, one with preouts, giving you the option of stereo amp addition.
Or maybe go with the Cambridge Audio 640R at the same price to give you better audio from the outset?

A

Anonymous

Hi get the point. So the Onkyo is not a good "music receiver". But from what i saw, the Cambridge is above my budget :-(

Any other suggestions?

Do you agree with my choice of speakers?

Thank You!!

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site