onkyo 607 and 7.1 but no 7.1 content

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
hi im new to all of this. I have a 7.1 setup but none of my blu rays have 7.1. I was wondering if any of you knowledgeable people could tell me if I can use the dolby plii x on a true hd 5.1 soundtrack to get 7.1 or would i just end up with standard dolby in 7.1. It just seems like a waste of money on the extra two speakers.

any help would be greatly apreatiated

A

Anonymous

There are very few 7.1 encoded releases around. You can use the Onks processing skills to create 7.1 from a 5.1 track but that's not quite the same as having a 7.1 sound track available on the disc....

This is why most people have stuck with 5.1 speaker systems. I use the extra amp channels to bi-amp my front speakers.

Sorreltiger

Apr 22, 2008
Visit site
The PLiix processing will work fine with DTS Master or Dolby Tru HD to send sound to your rear channels. Although you will only find a few BD discs with 7.1 sound, you may find that the extra two speakers give you a bit more ambience with 5.1 material. Although some people think it's a waste of time, I like the effect I get with my system. I think it probably depends on your listening position/room layout and acoustics.

carter

Aug 27, 2008
Visit site
this is what i find most disapointing about bluray ive gone to the trouble of buying all the hd gear extra speakers cable no to mention the amp and what do i get out of my 75 blurays 2 with 7.1 ,run fat boy run and i cant remember the other not. really worth the extra outlay really.

carter

Aug 27, 2008
Visit site
nodnarb4444:this is what i find most disapointing about bluray ive gone to the trouble of buying all the hd gear extra speakers cable no to mention the amp and what do i get out of my 75 blurays 2 with 7.1 ,run fat boy run and i cant remember the other not. really worth the extra outlay really.the golden compass

A

Anonymous