admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi first of all im new to hifi and what hifi so hi guys,

Im a student with a very limited budget, my dad gave me his old hifi hes had for 30+ years and has been in the loft, unfortunately the speaker cones had been eaten by moths/ degraded so bought a pair of mission mission mx1s last summer to replace them. Im currently running them though a NAD 3020A. Most music is played through my belkin blue tooth adapter or through my phone via an aux to phono cable. I occasionaly play CDs through a NAD t550 dvd/cd player i got for about £20 on ebay just so i could play CDs.

Although happy with the system sounds i dont think it sounded as good as i remember when i tested he speakers out in my local shop although dont know if this is due to becoming used to the speakers and losing the WOW factor or genuinely inferior sound quality. Bearing in mind i can currently afford upto £150 now and £300 by mid summer would a new budget amp in this price range be any better than what i believe to have been quite a high end machine? Also will getting it properly cleaned improve performance? it currently cracles a lot if you change the volume through the amp and not my mac.

All advice would be much appreciated.

A

Anonymous

The NAD 3020 was a great amp in its time but they're old now and they do degrade over time

If I were you I'd stick with NAD and look for a NAD C320BEE on eBay. One of the best budget amps ever made IMO and still holds its own :)

Rob998

Nov 19, 2008
Visit site
The 3020 was never high-end, but in its day it was a really decent bit of entry level kit, and performed well above its payscale.