Newbie would really like help regarding digital library

MusicLover33

Apr 4, 2013
Visit site
Hi All,

Although I've got some Technics separates that are about 20 years old and some Bose speakers (sorry - bought without knowledge!), I'm thinking of revamping everything.

My real conundrum is I work in IT and have all music both in CD format (because I hate paying for cra**y digital downloads) and in iTunes in (mostly) AAC format.

What I don't understand is why buy a nice HiFi system and play poor quality AAC or MP3 (please correct me if it's not poor)? Is there any way I can maintain a good quality digital library or do I need to consign myself to never being able to make a playlist again and just swapping CD's?

If there is a good way of making a digital library work, is anyone able to offer any much appreciated advise please?

Thanks all, Ben :)

GSB

Mar 27, 2011
Visit site
Errmm.....streaming would be be the solution i would imagine.

Just type into the search forums bar streaming and you will be presented with a wealth of knoledge,reviews and users experiance.

Hope this helps:)

BigH

Dec 29, 2012
Visit site
I think downloads are as good or better than cds, depends what ones you download of course and that is the future plus services like Spotify and Rdio.

Pete68

Nov 15, 2012
Visit site
Hi Ben

You have lots of options open to you and your digital library can sound great if you buy a decent DAC. If you are streaming from your PC/Mac/iPod etc, you pass the signal through the DAC before you feed it into your amp. Products like the Arcam rDac or the Firestone Spitfire will do the job but there are hundreds of DAC's out there to choose from. I think most DAC's under a grand do more or less the same job but it's worth having a listen to a few before you buy to make sure you're getting something that you can live with. For more info on DAC's....

Hope this helps

Overdose

Feb 8, 2008
Visit site
MusicLover33 said:
Hi All,