Newbie with NAS..

Stevie9

Jun 9, 2015
Visit site
Hi,

I am completely new to all this.. but I know that I only need 1-5TB at the very most for storage. It has to be quiet and the smaller the box the better.

I have seen Synology enclosures for 2 and 4 bays.. I may plump for the 414slim as it has 4 bays and I can expand it at a later date. It comes out at around £300 for 2 x 1TB red drives.. I did not want to limit myself with 2 bay. But saying this there are single hard drives out there that are 3TB... and more. Will 4 bays be better?

Will this be ok ? I don't want to spend more than £300

I know some people will have a preference but for a basic home NAS for music and photos will this be ok..?

And what is RAID and do I need it?

Are Synology reliable?

Any comments for a good home NAS for music will be appreciated.

Thanks..

Stevie9

Jun 9, 2015
Visit site
http://www.audiostream.com/content/network-attached-storage-nas-part-1-intro

Well I've found this. Very helpful to someone who is learning, like me.

jjbomber

Stevie9 said:
Hi,

I am completely new to all this.. but I know that I only need 1-5TB at the very most for storage. It has to be quiet and the smaller the box the better.

Any comments for a good home NAS for music will be appreciated.

Thanks..

Brilliant article in this month's magazine on everything you need to know. While your missus is doing the shopping, head over to the magazine section and read the article. Starts on Page 55.

spiny norman

Jan 14, 2009
Visit site
jjbomber said:
Brilliant article in this month's magazine on everything you need to know. While your missus is doing the shopping, head over to the magazine section and read the article. Starts on Page 55.

Even better, tear the pages out and take them home, so you'll have them for reference later.

Stevie9

Jun 9, 2015
Visit site
Hi Jbomber,