New to the show.

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello newbie here, never been on here before so be gentle with me.I am an amature when it comes to hi-fi equipment.At the moment i own a completly basic Arcam separate system (alpha 9 integrated amp no phono, alpha 8 cd, alpha 7 tuner), and B&W P4 floorstanders.I hope to enjoy the site too and pick up a bit of techy know how along the way
emotion-1.gif
.My name Nathan and i have owned the system for about 10 years or so.Also i hoping i can just swap my amp to a valve amp to power my B&W's, and connect an Onkyo record player to it too
emotion-1.gif
.Need some help there with the latter there, if someone doesn't mind helping me.

A

Anonymous

I forgot to mention i do listen to quite a variety of music too.

T

the record spot

Deoending on your budget, Icon Audio have their Stereo 20 for £499 but I'm not sure if that's line only, however, Hi Fi World rated it as a good low cost introduction to the valve sound. They have their Stereo 40 but that's almost twice the price.

Onkyo t/t eh? Do you have a model number?

Welcome to the forum too by the way.

A

Anonymous

Hi, i don't know how sensitive these P4' s are, if i am going to buy a valve amp to go with them.I don't want to go in blind and come away with something i don't want.I know some shop owners do home demo's and all that.Also know a little bit about valve amps but not alot.They need to be serviced and costs a chunk .People have said good and not bad things about them but not great.Also someone said they work better at high volumes, is this true ?.I don't trust some salesman because they usually say i got one of these at home, but they say that with everything you buy, instead of actually telling you which equipment you will want to hear again and again.

A

Anonymous

Yeah the Onkyo t/t isn't a recent model, in fact it is about 16 - 17 years old. The model No is CP1116A.

d_a_n1979

Sep 6, 2007
Visit site