New to Hi Fi.

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hey Everyone,

Hows it going? My name is Simon and I am new to the Hi Fi world. I was wondering if any of you out there would be able to help me get started... I did look through some of the posts in the forum but couldn't find any that were similar to my situation.

I am looking at investing in a new Hi Fi system, because the computer speakers I currently use just don't do justice to my music collection. Would it be worth while investing in a surround sound system or sticking with a Hi Fi system? Most of my music is in mp3 format and I use my computer and ipod to play it. So can anyone recommend a way of connecting my laptop to the amp without losing more from the mp3 format? I am looking for quality over volume but I don't have a large budget (£800ish). I realise this may be difficult because quality usually comes with a price tag.

I took a look at the 'what hifi' best buy systems for both the surround and hifi in both the budget and mid range, whilst the full midrange system in both cases was out of my range I thought that it might be worth investing in the speakers from either. Does anyone think this is a good idea or would it be a better investment in purchasing the higher standard amp?

I know its quite a few questions all in one go but I would be very grateful to anyone who can give me some advice.

Thanks,

Simon.

A

Anonymous

Sorry simon, i cant really advise you with pc related gear, hopefully someone with a bit of know how will help you as you have taken the time to write a detailed post, Where are you guy's? help the man.

A

Anonymous

Something like the following would be good:

NAD C355BEE

B&W 685

M Audio 2496 PCI card

That would be rougly £750.

A

Anonymous

JoelSim:
Get a CD player and join us dinosaurs who still enjoy the better quality.

Dangerous words
emotion-5.gif

A

Anonymous

I like Hughes123 suggestions though, although I'd make the following changes:-