New setup,life after AV

ianb

Nov 20, 2022
Visit site
Hi guys I'm new to this but not audio! I've recently sold my high-end onkyo 9.2 AV to concentrate on good old stereo set-up. If it's OK I'm going to let you know what my new secondhand system comprises of and if any of you have heard of,seen or hopefully either owned or heard of any of the main components. Starting of I have a sony ta fb740r amplifier and with two sets of speaker terminals I've opted to keep my main speakers from my AV setup, a beautiful pair of easily driven acoustic solutions powerforce 2000,and for my set B a lovely pair of gale 4040s.. as vinyl and cd are the predominant sources I've splashed out on a rega planer 3,my cd player or should I say players are a very nice technics mash player (can't remember serial number) and a kenwood dp2030. I also have a technics tuner,a sony 3 head 3 motor tape deck, a technics 3 head 3 motor double cassette deck,also thrown in is a trio graphic equalizer and finally a spare socket for my blu Ray player and of course for everything else Alexa in the form of echo dot 3. Most of my new secondhand system I've built and bought (much to the annoyance of my fiancee because of storage!! Both hardware and vinyl/cds) whilst I've been in hospital and rehab. I suffer from MS stage 2 and I had a fall down a couple of steps which has resulted in a tib/fib fracture and a dislocated ankle,I've spent 14 weeks and 2 days in care!! I unfortunately can't go back to the flat as its unreasonable and a lot of other reasons hence now being homeless and moving into TA tomorrow (probably why I can't sleep and I'm writing this essay!) So anyway I've done a lot of research into my new bits and here's hoping that it beats the musicality of my onkyo? Just wondering on some feedback guys and girls if you've got some and any tips will be greatly appreciated,phew the end!!.

treesey

Hi Ian - forgetting about the hifi for a minute I hope you are on the mend.