New Panasonic tv advice please

richcam

Sep 23, 2015
Visit site
Hi There..1st post..so please be gentle.

Ive always had Panasonic Plasma Televisions..to me they were the best..yet I'm no expert. I've currently got a Panny txp42 gt30b....I'm looking at a Panny tx50 cx802b..basically I'm looking for advice from you guys.

the vast majority of my Tv watching is through a Sky HD box..I dare say I may use Netflix and Amazon for 4k ..and hopefully Sky too.

How do the two TVs compare ..my current one has a picture that I would still des I e as excellent....even on non hd channels on Sky....would the tx 50 deliver even more stunning picture quality? Is there any area it's let down by?

I see What hi FI has given it a great rating...and its on offer at around £1400.my reckoning is Id get around £400 for my current set...so it seems a sensible move...or perhaps there's another set you may recommend? If so...why?

all advice appreciated...cheers

It depends on whether you're a video purist or not. Some people have been underwhelmed after moving from plasma to LCD; and there are people who couldn't be happier. That Panasonic is a good TV and most people will be happy with it.

richcam

Sep 23, 2015
Visit site
Cheers big boss for taking time to reply.

do you think the 50 inch will handle sport and fast movie scenes .

i wouldn't want to spend money to find that I have a worse telly...yet I guess that the 50 inch is 4 years technically more advanced than the 42inch.

im not a purist at all....my current Panny seems great to me but I'd like to keep up to date ....having always had a Panny ...I'd struggle to go for an LG although I like the looks of the Samsungs.

do you have any recommendations?

When I attended a TV shootout last year, I thought Samsung was better than Panasonic LCD , especially with motion. But Panasonic was good as well.

Check my post here (scroll down a bit):

http://www.whathifi.com/forum/tvs-and-projectors/ultimate-shoot-out?page=3

Oldboy

Sep 13, 2007