Networked Audio Player Vs DAB seperates

BryO

Apr 24, 2014
Visit site
Hello, I've read that DAB radio is broadcast at very low quality and I have no experience of Networked Audio Players for internet radio.

Any have experience of these, is the better quality sound going to come from a Networked Audio Player?

Cheers Bry.

Esra

Feb 20, 2011
Visit site
I you can setup a dish ... I think Satradio is the best quality for now.But i am sure in future we will get more quality streams via Network.There are a lot of stations to explore,you will certainly find some stations you like with good quality stream.I would prefer Network.DAB is dead end.

I still prefer good FM, but internet radio is pretty good via my SB Touch. In the car, and with table radios like the Pure range, DAB seems fine if the signal is good, but it is too compressed for hifi (compare Radio 3 with Classic FM, where Classic FM is compressed like DAB sounds).

I'm currently in a part of the Uk where I have decent broadband (6Mbps) but iffy DAB at home, and even the satellite dish seems affected by some nearby trees! So to some extent my choice would depend on what I could access.

A streaming device can of course do much more than simply radio, and that is a big factor.

BryO

Apr 24, 2014
Visit site
Cheers, I've read they do various other things, at the moment I'm interested in something that plays internet radio, Planet Rock, Classic FM etc with a better sound than DAB. Without breaking the bank. Have seen this Denon DNP720 which seems to have come down from £450 to £169 seems good value. Was just thinking of linking it to the broadband wireless that we have, guessing that's how they work.

Leeps

Dec 10, 2012
Visit site