Need advice upgrading my hifi system (KEF Q100 + Marantz M-CR603)

The Bobcat

Nov 30, 2014
Visit site
Hey guys,

As im a layman when it comes to hifi i definitely need some advice upgrading my system. I purchased a pair of KEF Q100 paired with a Marantz M-CR603 amplifier about 2 years ago and already feeling the need to upgrade. I feel like it lacks punch and bass among other things. It doesn’t handle moderate to high volumes very well. I listened to a variety of music from acoustic to hip-hop. But a good chunk of the music I listen to is house music (deep house in particular) and this leaves me craving for a deep, solid and punchy bass among other things. So let me list a few things to look out for before you guys can help me answer my question:

1) I live in a 152 square meters 2 bedroom apartment. The listening area is about half of that.

2) Listening distance from speakers to where I sit down is a little over 2 meters.

3)Getting floorstanders is absolutely out of the questions as they won’t fit in my apartment.

4) My budget for the speakers is about 500-1500 USD. For the amp is about the same.

So with these things in mind what should be the best speaker and amplifier combo. I’ve been reading up that the B&W 685 s2 is a solid buy? Is there anything else in this price range that’s worth an audition?

The next question is what would be the best amp for the B&W 685 s2. These amps have come up a lot in my research:

Rotel RA 11/RA 12

Roksan Kandy K2 BT

Rega Brio R/Elex R

Arcam FMJ A19

NAD D 3020

My last question is it probably better just to get a subwoofer?

I know im throwing a lot of questions but would be great to get feedback! haha

Thanks so much :)

ID.

Feb 22, 2010
Visit site
marantz_hd-dac1.jpg

(pick a colour)

http://us.marantz.com/us/news/pages/NewsDetails.aspx?NewsID=95

+

Adam_A7X_01a.jpg

http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/aug10/articles/adam-a7x.htm