Need advice for new hi-fi

Fungus

Sep 25, 2016
Visit site
Hello everybody!

I begin with... I'm no expert in hi-fi, but I'm fed up of listening to music through my laptop speakers. I had a good quality stereo lots of years ago, I would love to go back having a proper equipment.

Unfortunately, I don't have a dedicated room where I can place the system, so I think it is no point to spend an huge amount of money on something that won't be exploited the right way.

I have read a lot in these week and i think the best solution for me would be an entry level.

Having said that, do you think this setup is well balanced? This is what I could test in various shops.

Amp: Onkyo A-9010 or Marantz PM6005
CD player: Marantz CD5005 or ONKYO C 7030
Turntable: Audio-Technica AT-LP120 or Argon TT2
Speakers: Dali Opticon 1 or Dali Zensor 5 or B&W 685 S2

I would like to connect the CD player through a coaxial cable.

Any advice is more than welcome.

Thanks!

muljao

Jul 18, 2016
Visit site
Welcome to the forum, I must say you look a little like Ben Stiller

I am sure any or all of the list you made will be a nuce upgrade over your laptop speakers. I will say that if you want to connect your cd with a coaxial, it needs a coaxial out, and your amp needs a digital section, or if not you need a seperate dac.

This points to your Marantz PM6005 over the Onkyo (at least if it is the UK version). I think the marantz amp and cd are a good start. Others will give you recommendations on the other bits

insider9

Fungus said:
Hello everybody!

I begin with... I'm no expert in hi-fi, but I'm fed up of listening to music through my laptop speakers. I had a good quality stereo lots of years ago, I would love to go back having a proper equipment.

Unfortunately, I don't have a dedicated room where I can place the system, so I think it is no point to spend an huge amount of money on something that won't be exploited the right way.