Marantz PM6005 or Onkyo A9010 for Dali Zensor Pico

Hi All,

A newbie here (both on this forum and to the Hi-Fi world) just trying to make my first purchase and need a hand in deciding between 2 integrated amplifiers for my little Pico speakers (2 channel only, no sub).

I was leaning towards the PM6005 for the brand name but after reading reviews a lot of people have complained of it failing within a year or two of having it. The A9010 is at the same price point and featured what I needed (2x digital inputs 1x optical and 1x coaxial).

I called Richer sounds and they said the Onkyo would suit my speakers better as the Marantz is better suited for bigger speakers but going instore I was told the Marantz was better as it provided more detail and power to the Pico's.

Which one do you think would suit my Pico speakers best?

avole

Jul 15, 2016
Visit site
The Picos at 84db aren't easy to drive, need power, and both the Marantz and Onkyo are marginal. I'd look at the more powerful Yamaha amps. The AS 501 will drive those speakers well, you want 75 watts as a minimum.

With such tiny speakers, presumably a necessity for you, there is a limit to what they can do. Modest speakers and a modest amp such as you are considering will go fine together. Beware volume changes on any demo switchover - louder usually sounds better!

if you can manage with bigger speakers then do so. Otherwise, the ultimate output and bass reproduction will be limited - it's just physics! Doesn't mean you can't enjoy them immensely played within their limitations.

matthewpiano

Can you stretch to the Dali Zensor 1 instead of the Pico? This with the Marantz PM6005 would make a good combination with more all-round ability.

When you demo the Yamaha make sure you check out the volume control. It has a funny jump in it somewhere around the 8 o'clock position and if you listen at low to medium volumes you may find this annoying.

matthewpiano said: