M³ Headphone Amplifier ~ DIY Build Log ~

lonely boy

Apr 19, 2008
Visit site
Thought this maybe of interest to some of you - I recently built an M3 headphone amplifier over the month of October last year - this is a log in a series of posts documenting the process. These posts will be quite long but I'll try and keep them as concise as possible. ~ Introduction ~ I'm relatively new to DIY electronics, my first attempt was around Christmas of 2009 when I built a Starving Student valve hybrid amp, until then I had no experience and very little knowledge about electronics in general. I have since built another Starving Student (a 12AU7 design) and a few CMoys. The M3, or M cubed as its pronounced, is a high-end three channel amplifier featuring a MOSFET output stage on each channel, hence its name. As this is a non-commercial design, you either have to build it yourself or commission someone to build it for you. The schematic is open source but the printed circuit board needed to build the amp is available from AMB, an organization that specialize in DIY audio and are also responsible together with members of the DIY community for the design.
mmm_assy.jpg