Looking to upgrade my hi fi to home cinema but not sure what it all means!

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I am totally new to the home cinema scene so need a bit of advice.

1. when can and can't you use surround sound? I've got Virgin TV and am thinking of upgrading to HDTV, assume can use surround sound for this but are there any general programes and films that you can't use it for eg films on BB1 for example?

2. If you can widely use surround sound, I would like to upgrade by HI Fi. Details of existing system are as folllows-

a. TV- Toshiba 32WLT66, says it HD ready so should be ok.

b.cd player- Marantz cd63 mII KI. Happy to keep this.

c. amp-marantz PM 66SE KI. Ideally look to change to a receiver/ processor. My priority is that it must sound at least as good as current HI Fi even if the surround sound needs sacrificing. Thoughts are Onkyo TX SR875 ( not sure how good it is for 2 channel music though). Arcam AVR 350-(can get them for approx £850 so assume good value), maybe Arcam 280 or 300-not sure of differences between these. Finally, idea of a cyrus system ( I used to have a cyrus III plus PXS about 10 years ago and really liked it). eg AV Master 8 plus say intergrated amp such as and 8 or 8vs2 or maybe some older power amp in their range (I think the AV Master has an integrated Pre amp but don't know how it compares to say Integrated 8 etc). Happy to buy second hand.

d. Tuner-Sony ST SE500- will get rid unless I go for the cyrus system as all other have built in tuners.

e. DVD player-Pioneer DV 575A- will keep. In practice, we don't really watch DVDs, instead we rent films off Virgin.

f.Speakers-Mission 773e plus I have a pair of 771e from another system in the house. I was then proposing to buy a mission 77c centre second hand which cost less than £100. Assume I'm right in thinking that I probably have to spend £800 to get an obvious improvement on my current speaker proposal so makes sense to stick with mission.