LCD or PLASMA which is more reliable?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
In light of the rumours about Pioneer starting to produce LCD Tv’s, it got me wondering, which system, LCD or Plasma is the most reliable? Before I came on here I was led to believe that LCD was the better picture and Plasmas only lasted 5 minutes before troubles would occur.

Having now decided that I prefer Plasma, but slightly disappointed that LCD seems to be winning out, I wondered if they are more reliable, and if the costs of fixing both sets are comparable. Will LCD ever get the deep blacks sorted out, and what about FAST movement? I am now told by many on here that once you use High definition, movement is not an issue with LCD.

Any thoughts?

A

Anonymous

I am NO expert but am an eager Google-er. I had gained the impression that it was LCDs that were beset with problems! Clouding, blurring, smearing, not to mention backlight failure and dead pixels. I found very few reports of systematic plasma problems and hence veered towards the Panny plasma 37 when buying. I'd be most interested in comments from those more knowledgable than i (i., anybody) about this 'reliability) issue! C

Alec

Oct 8, 2007
Visit site
Very Annoyed - the motion point is interesting - i too would love to know if anyone thinks itll improve. My new set wont be til the end of the year probably, but its looking like plasma. i think of them as tellys, and lcds as pc monitors trying to do a job they werent designed for - tho some do it very well, and id rather have a good lcd than a bad plasma - based on my meagre experience so far. opinionssubjecttochangetermsandconditionsapply.

D.J.KRIME

Jun 28, 2007
Visit site
Panasonic series 5 is now in the bedroom after almost 5 years of say 6 hours a day usage and not a hint of a problem ever, and what did I replace it with? Yep another plasma. IMHO when it comes to a TV there is only one way to go and its not those jumped upLCD/PC monitors pretending to be a TV.

Alec