Laptop Headphone Setup (advice)

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi all, I am fairly new to this, but after some deliberated research, I am looking to get close to a HiFi sound as possible from my computer based music.

My current setup is Sennheiser HD555's from a 3.5 audio output on a Macbook Pro, and after listening to my headphones via a HIFI system, realised I was not getting the full potential from my headphones, hence this quest began. After researching I have been looking to get either of these following setup's and would like advice if it would be good or if there are better...

[1] Macbook > Beresford Caiman via USB, Graham Slee Solo Amp > Sennheiser HD555

[2] Macbook > Cambridge Audio DACmagic > Graham Slee Solo Amp > Sennheiser HD555

A third option would be to have a Presonus FP10 (or firepod) via Firewire to a dedicated headphone amp as I also do home recordings, but I do not know if 1. if it is a DAC and outputs an analogue signal, or 2. if it is, whether or not it would be a suitable DAC for HiFi listening. Here is more information on the product...

http://www.presonus.com/products/Detail.aspx?ProductId=5

All music is played via iTunes and ripped in AIFF/WAV lossless format. Are these good choices? Or are there better? Im trying to get the best performance I can with the headphones I have, possibly in some near future looking to upgrade to HD650's, but for the time being I'm sticking with the HD555's.

Any advice would be very welcomed :)

lazar1980

Aug 17, 2008
Visit site
Hi,

If I remember correctly Stan was tuning beresford`s amp with hd650`s so can assume that they match perfectly, and you could also save some pennies on separate headphone amp in case you happy with beresford.

Regards

John Duncan