I am completely new to speakers and sound systems.

I was considering buying a pair of JBL LSR 305s after they were recommended on another tread on this forum, along with a DragonFly DAC (3.5mm jack) to connect to my laptop.

I have tried to find out myself what cables and setup I would need for these to work together, however I still do not have a clue what I require.

Thank you in advance for any help.

Sam.

lpv

Mar 14, 2013
Visit site
Sam Allen said:
*Dragonfly

ok.. is there any particular reason why dragonfly? or is it purely copied from another thread? It will all work just fine and you need this cable to connect firefly with monitors

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/200306397257

btw, what's your laptop?

davedotco

Apr 24, 2013
Visit site
Budget ones at that. Like all such speakers they will have strengths and weaknesses that may or may not be suitable for your requirements. There are a number of decent alternatives around tha price of the LSR305s most notably from Yamaha and Presonus.

From a purely practical viewpoint I would prefer a DAC with 'proper' connectors, the mini jack to 1/4in jack or XLR required for a Dragonfly would limit options and would not be my choice.

lpv

Mar 14, 2013
Visit site
davedotco said:
Budget ones at that. Like all such speakers they will have strengths and weaknesses that may or may not be suitable for your requirements. There are a number of decent alternatives around tha price of the LSR305s most notably from Yamaha and Presonus.

From a purely practical viewpoint I would prefer a DAC with 'proper' connectors, the mini jack to 1/4in jack or XLR required for a Dragonfly would limit options and would not be my choice.

can you explain how dragonfly connectors limit options? what kind of options do you have in mind?

rainsoothe