Is this on the market or a pipe dream of mine?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi everybody,

I'm hoping you can help out a total noob ;) My friends and family have been onto me for years about updating my AV set-up so, what with the Olympics coming up I thought I'd dip my toes in. I've spent a bit of time on this excellent website looking for answers and noticed you like as much info as possible so here goes:

My TV is a Panasonic TX-28PL1 which has given fantastic service over the years and I'll be sorry to get rid of the hefty beast. I think I'll replace it with the Samsung UE46ES8000 (any thoughts on my choice?).

I currently have a standard Virgin V-box (will get a V HD box) connected by scart into a Panasonic HDD/DVD recorder DMR-E85H with the audio going to a Technics SC-EH760 hi-fi system with 5(.1) speaker set-up but no integrated decoder so the sound I get is not true 5.1 but is room filling and rich and I really don't want to get rid of it. I have L+R cables running audio from both TV and HDD recorder to the Technics and just swap the cables depending if I have the HDD on or not. I also have an Archos 5 connected to the TV via scart to play stuff I've got on my PC and to listen to my music via the Technics. Whew!

Finally made it to my question :) Is there a DVD recorder (BluRay would be asking too much!) with HDD that I can feed my Virgin HD box into that also has 5.1 analogue outputs (fully decoded) so I can have a decent audio experience as well as visual?

I note that the telly of my choice only has digital audio out so I'd be stuck with the internal speakers or get a soundbar (what's the best one?) if I just turn the telly on. If I can't use my Technics to play audio what would be the next best solution for a budget (up to a grand)? Which A/V receiver and speakers would you recommend? Do any of the packaged home cinema set-ups out there allow incoming signals via Virgin or Freeview HD to a HDD or are they just for playing discs?