Integrated tube amp fans

Stevie9

Jun 9, 2015
Visit site
Hi,
So what's the low down on using one of these?
I've never given them any thought because of several reasons. I thought they ran very hot so you can dry your socks on them. I assumed they were delicate. I also thought (heaven knows why) that the components were more liable to blow (like light bulbs) .. Not many inputs. Too high to fit into a standard hifi shelf. Expensive, like £900 plus. I'm an old tech kinda guy, I like exposed electronics, I do like twiddly knobs.
So are integrated tube amps only for aficionados with deep pockets or are they worth a look in?

CnoEvil

Aug 21, 2009
Visit site
MYTHS

- All Valve amps sound syrupy and undynamic
- They are a ***** to own

DISADVANTAGES

- They Run Hot
- They use a bit more power
- Valves do need replaced...Power Amp ones more often than Pre. They can be expensive, but not necessarily so.
- They stand or fall by their power supply...which is why good ones cost a bit.
- Speaker matching is more important, as they don't like plummeting Impedance.
- Bass is often not as tightly controlled as a Solid State amp
- They are often more suited to certain types of music.

ADVANTAGES

- If you play to their strengths, they simply make music sound wonderful...so wonderful, that all the disadvantages melt away.
- You can tailor the sound with Tube Rolling.
- They have different sound signatures, just like SS amps
- They sound incredibly dynamic, provided you get one with a decent power supply.

It is my firm opinion, that if everyone had a Valve Amp on their list of demo amps, a lot of people would choose one. If you like how they sound, nothing else comes close.

CnoEvil

Aug 21, 2009
Visit site
Bear in mind that they are very (very) different sounding to what you own, which is on the very clean, forward and slightly analytical end of the spectrum.

tino

Sep 29, 2011
Visit site
CnoEvil said:
They sound incredibly dynamic, provided you get one with a decent powersupply.