home made speakers

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
hello,

has anyone on here made their own speakers? i dont mean kits but from scratch, im a student and as such have a very limited budget and wondered if i made some could they be better than entry level speakers bought from shops?

tia

A

Anonymous

The level of skill and tools req would put me off this route. trawl e bay and you should find something nice...no matter what your budget is !
emotion-21.gif

A

Anonymous

I built my own speakers on a budget in my younger days. I came out of it with a feeling of immense pride and self being. It was just unfortunate they were comparatively... rubbish. You need to spend quite a bit to build good quality speakers, at which point bargains can be had.

As Andy said, look on ebay for your best bet.ÿ

A

Anonymous

If you use local bargain finder you have a great chance because speakers are usually not posted so use your post code to find the bargain. Alter the cost range to suit your budget too !

A

Anonymous

Ive made a few. Most recently a transmission line set, but that design was somewhat erm.. aquired. Transmission lines are not an exact science so i somewhat followed in the footsteps of others. There these http://ourworld.compuserve.com/homepages/cmelhuish/speakers.htm but i fitted the morel mdt30s tweeters instead. I moved the terminal plate to the bottom so the box is not weaked at the back of the throat, and there is full access to the line although stuffing was never needed except behind the driver. Honestly, my speaker cables are fine, im not trying to hide anything.