Home Cinema advice for a complete novice!

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi,

I was wondering if anyone with far greater experience than I would be able to offer some advice regarding my planned home cinema setup?

In the next month or so i plan on buying the following equipment:

- Panasonic TH37PX70 Plasma TV and wall bracket (£680.00)

- Onkyo TX-SR605 AV Receiver (£400.00)

- Samsung HD870 DVD Player (£47.00)

- Q Acoustics 1010 5.1 Speaker System (£450.00)

- Q Acoustics 1000ST Speaker Stands x 2 (£140.00)

- SKY+ Box (£100.00)

The plan is to have the TV mounted on a dry lined redundant chimney brest with the other components located within the redundant fireplace and all cables run through the wall void.

Could anyone let me know if the following setup sounds correct? I have never done anything like this before.

I plan to connect the AV receiver to the TV by a single HDMI cable (i also plan to run a spare HDMI Cable from the TV for future use).

The DVD player would then be connected directly to the receiver by HDMI and Digital Optical cable (for suround sound).

The SKY+ box would be connected via S Video to the receiver and again digital optical cable for surround sound.

I plan on using flat speaker cable to connect the speakers, this is so that i can run the cable under the carpets. I have been looking at two types: QED Qontour Ultra Flat and Merlin C4. Could anyone offer advice on which is better, or any other alternatives? I'm looking at paying no more than £2 per metre so cost is important in this instance.

As far as the speaker connectors go, would i be correct in thinking that i need to go for banana plugs? If so i will i need 20 of them? Any advice on the type i should be looking at would be appreciated.

A sub woofer cable would run from the receiver to the sub (i think :eek:).