Hi-Fi: Resurrect or start afresh

rob.exley

Apr 18, 2008
Visit site
Dear all forum members,

I'm looking to take advantage of the collective wisdom of you all. I have a rather old separates system and I'm looking for advice as to whether I would be best looking to resurrect and extend the lives of some of these components of whether at this stage I should start afresh. I bought into the Sonos ecosystem about two years ago and now have all my music ripped in Apple Lossless on a NAS. In the lounge I have a ZP90 hooked up to my existing system and going forward I expect to use my Sonos for the most part but I may also use CDs from time to time (if there was an appreciable difference in quality). I also want to hook my AV kit into some form of system and as I'm not too bothered about surround sound, I'd be happy to get stereo or 2.1 sound by joining into the same hi-fi amp etc.

Current system was built mainly whilst I was a student with the amp being the most recent purchase in about 98-99.

• Hi-FI Kit:
  • Arcam Alpha 8R Amp
  • Technics CD SL-PS900
  • Denon TU-560L Tuner
  • Kenwood KX-5530 Cassette Deck
  • Linn Basik Turntable
  • Pinnacle AC 850 Speakers
  • AV Kit:
  • Panasonic TH37PX80 Plasma TV
  • Playstation 3 (used for games and DVD/Blu-Ray)
  • Topfield TF5800 PVR
Lounge is about 3.4m x 5.5m with the TV currently in the corner.

My better-half doesn't like the existing speakers and they are far from ideally situated being shoved in the corner at one end of the room.

If the answer was to start again, I've been reading about the Arcam A19 amp and the Cyrus amps but I don't yet have a fixed candidate list of a firm budget. Speakers I have been reading about are things such as the B&W 685/684 and the Monitor Audio speakers. For this sized room, would people recommend floor-standers or bookshelf speakers on mounts?

Thanks for any advice in advance.

altruistic.lemon

Jul 25, 2011
Visit site