Help on home cinema

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I have a Sony KDL -40W2000 LCD tv to which i want to add home cinema to. After reading the Latest What Hi Fi i think i have settled for either the Onkyo 505 or 605. I have a smallish room so would the 505 be ok or would it be better to invest in the 605. If i got the 605 what benefits would i be getting for the extra outlay. Could anyone then suggest what speakers would go with either of the onkyo's but i would prefer smaller ones with it only being a small room. Finally what speaker wires would ok to hook it all together and any interconnects between the receiver and tv. As i am a novice in home cinema any thoughts would be really appreciated.

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site
The main question here really is what is your budget? The 605 / 606 will offer you hi-def sound formats which are available from Blu-Ray discs, so if you are thinking of moving to Blu-Ray any time before you next upgrade your amp, you should go for these models. The 606 (new version of the 605 due out imminently) also offers upscaling of standard definition sources (such as older DVD players) to 1080i which might also interest you.

Andy Grange

Aug 2, 2007
Visit site
Can I ask a bit of a dumbo question, following on from your last post. As you mention, the 606 is able to upscale standard def sources. If I was to get Sky HD, would the 606 be able to distinguish the SD channels from the HD and upscale accordingly? Or are you only able to select one setting per source (i.e. this dvd player is SD, upcale)?

Thanks in advance

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site