Help ! Looking for way back to Hi-Fi

eddielyons

Mar 16, 2014
Visit site
Hi,

I am new to What-HiFi Forums but have read a number of them and there seems to be good advice and discussion on all things Hi-Fi. I have come off the back of a Cyrus system that was good, but I could never listen to for a long time, it was a Cyrus 8VS2, Cyrus CD6s and B&W 685 with Van den Hul interconnects and flatline gold speaker cables. It was a good system, but I found it tough going at times. Always wanted a fuller/warmer sound that was less demanding! I tried the psx-r power supply, but found very little improvement, it was there but it was so small and no way worth the investment. In fact , I used to get better results playing CDs on my Sony DVD player ! I thought why the hell is this £600 dedicated player not able to outperform a £100 DVD player ....so I have sold the Cyrus gear. I have held on to the cables and Speakers and think they are more than adequate. The experience left me a little disillusioned with "Hi-Fi" and I lost my interest in playing music as I ended up listening to the "system", I often enjoyed music more on my car stero than my supposed Hi-Fi. Anyway, rant over and I am looking to rediscover the love for music through a decent second hand integrated amplifier this time with tone controls, 70w to 100w and with a full sound, good bass and musical if possible. Musical tastes are varied, but Classic Rock seems to take over the collection! A phono connection would also be useful as I would like to get back to vinyl at some stage. Not sure about going class A amps with the heat generated and more likely to be probelamtic second hand.