Headphones HiFi, what kit

ukbobhicks

Aug 6, 2013
Visit site
Hi folks.

I'm one of many people out there with a young family who doesn't have much of an oportunity to listen to music loudly over my stereo. I am however looking to invest in some quality headphones to rediscover my CD collection. I have a budget of around £450 (max) for a quality listening experience over headphones.

I currently have a Rotel RA-04 Amp and Rotel RCD-06 CD player complimented by floorstanding Q Series KEF speakers. CD is the source I am looking to make the most of here. I'm very much into the detail and honesty of sound (I'm a composer) so clarity is important to me. So, here's the question:

Q: Would it be recommended to use a DAC with headphone port straight out of the CD player?

Q: Would it be recommeded to use a dedicated headphone amp?

Q: Would it be recommended to run straight out of the Rotel Amp's headphone port?

Q: Any recommendations on headphones based on one of the above scenarios? (I'm keen on over the ear type models, open or closed)

Many thanks in advance

Rob

dalethorn

Dec 7, 2011
Visit site
ukbobhicks said:
Hi folks. I'm one of many people out there with a young family who doesn't have much of an oportunity to listen to music loudly over my stereo. I am however looking to invest in some quality headphones to rediscover my CD collection. I have a budget of around £450 (max) for a quality listening experience over headphones. I currently have a Rotel RA-04 Amp and Rotel RCD-06 CD player complimented by floorstanding Q Series KEF speakers. CD is the source I am looking to make the most of here. I'm very much into the detail and honesty of sound (I'm a composer) so clarity is important to me. So, here's the question: (I'm keen on over the ear type models, open or closed)

1): ...use a DAC with headphone port out of the CD player?

2): ...use a dedicated headphone amp?

3): ...use from Rotel Amp's headphone port?