Hello everyone!

This is my first post in this forum and I'm a novice of the vinyl's world.
As most of you with more experience can imagine, I'm finding myself very confused in front of the wide choice I have.
I already tried to get informed a little searching on the internet and asking on other forums, but I'm still really undecided.

My budget is 500€/560$/360£

I'm leaning toward buying a Rega RP1 and a Rega Fono Mini (or maybe a secondhand Rega Fono I found for 150€).

Do you think this is good? Or maybe I could do better with my budget?

Additional information (don't know how much useful though) :

- I'm not interested in scratching, just listening.

- I'm going to place the turntable on the same piece of furniture of the speakers (even if on different shelfs) .

- The turntable will be a little less than a meter distant from the amplifier.

Tell me if you need some other informations that could matter.

Thank you in advance for all your answers.

thescarletpronster

Nov 17, 2012
Visit site
Hi Mattia, and welcome to the forum. It would be useful to know what kit you will be connecting your turntable to - amp, speakers, etc. Partly to think about best matching a turntable to the existing components, but also it might be that your amp has a built-in phone stage (it would probably have a dedicated 'Phono' input if so), in which case you wouldn't need the Fono mini.

The RP1 is a good turntable at that level, although it would be worth considering also the Dual turntables at that level (Debut, or even Carbon if your budget can accommodate it). Others will be able to give you far more detailed opinions from greater experience, however.

One other thing that might be of use is to know whether you already have a lot of vinyl records, and if so, what sorts of music they represent. Or what sorts of music you're likely to be playing on your turntable if not.

First of all, thanks for your answer!

thescarletpronster said: