First HiFi, KEF R500 or R700?

n2n

Nov 23, 2016
Visit site
Hi All,

Quite honestly I am very new to this high fidelity world. I am looking at building my first real hifi. Currently I am using NAD D 3020 and a pair of Cerwin Vega E-78 Bookshelves. My room size is about 20m squire. I live in Kuwait where my options are really really narrow for high end audio equipment.

I am looking towards buying a pair of good speakers which I can use for long term and slowly (may be taking 1-2 years time) build a system around that. Due to the unavailability of stores/ dealers (no scope for auditions for that matter), I am heavily dependent on online reviews and suggestions from you folks. With what looks affordable to me, my wishlist so far:

1. KEF R500/ KEF R700 (Local Store)

2. Musical Fidelity M3si (Amazon)

3. Audio-Technica AT-LP60USB (Local Store)

4. Schiit bifrost (Amazon)

5. Audioquest Cables (Local Store)

With that background, I found only one store here who has some of the KEFs, B&Ws, JBLs and Polk Audios. I narrowed it down to KEF R500 & KEF R700. I literally read every review I could find online. Finally leaning toward R500 mainly due to the room size. I am still unsure if another few hundred dollars for R700 will be a better long term investment, or may be not!

Now, among millions of questions I’m gonna mention a few specific:

1. Does my wishlist look ok or solid?

2. How good MF M3si pair with R500/R700? Has anyone any experience?

3. Can my NAD D3020 drive R500 or R700 nicely till I gather some budget for MF. Has anyone ever paired them?

4. MF M3si has a built-in DAC. Can Schiit bifrost outperform them? Has anyone ever compared them?

5. Most important question for now: R500 vs R700? The store is running low in stock (2 pairs of R500 and only 1 pair of R700). I need to decide fast.

I’ll really appreciate any inputs from you guys, with the questions and the wishlist as well.

Regards.

muljao

Jul 18, 2016
Visit site