extra amps for 9.1, 11.1

BowserWilkens

Sep 19, 2013
Visit site
Ok, so this is my first time posting on here.

I guess many people into home cinema have the same predicament; You've got an amp with 5 or 7 channels but have the option of upgrading the number of channels to 9 or 11 via the preouts on your receiver to external amps.

Maybe your amp cost between 600 & 1500 pounds - it seems a little costly to then buy a stereo power amp for nearly as much again in order just to achieve 9.1 or 11.1 sound.

Looking at new power amps from rotel or marantz, there doesn't seem to be a budget option. You have to pay through the nose to get 2 or 4 extra channels of power.

A regular hifi amp looks like a more reasonably priced option. However, the only cheaper amp I can find right now which has power amp inputs is the pioneer a30. Are there any others that forum members know of &or own?

My current setup is as follows: Denon 4311, ps3, Bowers & Wilkens 11.2 speakers - CDM CNT centre, P6 fronts, 602s3 front wides, ds3 surrounds, CC6x2 front heights, CDM SNT back surrounds, ASW500 & ASW675 subwoofers. BenQ w1070 projector, 110" screen. Audioquest cabling & Einstein power filter/8 socket power supply. (cocktailaudio x10 & ProJect Debut 3 turntable to be bought later this year)

I'm using an old yamaha amp to drive the front heights at the moment; I'm thinking about getting the pioneer a30 to drive the front main speakers (P6's) & drive the front heights using the denon's internal amps. Would this be advisable?

VoodooDoctor

Sep 23, 2007
Visit site
I imported an Emotiva 7 channel power amp from the USA for exactly this reason. It's very good for the money and gave me all the channels that I needed for the extra surrounds.

BowserWilkens

Sep 19, 2013
Visit site