Dynaudio Contour 20i

hilroy48

Sep 13, 2020
Visit site
Hello there, I ordered a set of these, and they will be here in 4 weeks. My room is 13'x19'x8'ceiling. I have acoustic panels on the walls as well. My amp is a Sugden SPA-4 Class A and and LA-4 pre Amp. I recently purchased an Aqua LA voce DAC. Will this be enough amp to drive these speakers in your opinion? Also What would you consider proper speaker placement? Distance from side walls and rear wall. I had set of B&W CM-10's connected to this combo, and it sounded great. I have since moved the CM-10's to the basement.

tbitblula

Oct 27, 2020
Visit site
Hi hilroy!

A fine setup you got there! Did the speakers arrive? How are they?

Coming back to your question, depending on the volume you’d like to listen to, even though it delivers masterclass sound, the Sugden might be a bit underpowered for the hungry dynaudios. I have no experience with the Contours but I do own their cheaper sibling, the 4 ohm Focus 160, and they prove a challenging match to most amps I tried, to date. Then again... I never owned a Sugden, but being a pure Class A amp you usually get a lower power output than you would normally expect from such a hefty box.

hilroy48

Sep 13, 2020
Visit site