Display Resolutions

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hiya All. I'm new to this Blu thing and was looking for advice on the display set-up. I have a Philips 42' LCD set which is only HD ready so i'm assumming that is 720p. My question is, on setting up the resolution on my Blu Ray (Samsung 1600 ) which would give me the best picture quality 720p or 1080i (it won't support 1080p )

True Blue

Oct 18, 2008
Visit site
If your Tv can accept 1080p images, it may scale them down onboard to 720p.

If not then 720p (progressive scan) is 720 lines of information on your screen.

1080i (interlaced) is actually only 540 lines but with a space inbetween each and the missing data is interpolated and inserted.

IMO therefore the better resolution would be 720p.

I am sure I will get smoked over that generalisation but it is only my understanding (limited) on how things work.

Wightknight

Jul 29, 2007
Visit site
True Blue:
1080i (interlaced) is actually only 540 lines but with a space inbetween each and the missing data is interpolated and inserted.

Hi True Blue: I don't think the comment above is quite right. The picture is made up of 1080 lines, but these are refreshed alternately. It is therefore a High Definition picture and requires a display with 1,920x1080 pixels.

Hi Jimma: If you want to avoid downscaling, then yes, set the output to 720P. However, you may wish to set the BDP to 1080P/24 (to get the best from Blu-Ray movies) and let the TV handle the downscaling. This later option will probably be slightly better.

For an interesting discussion on 720vs 1080, this article is pretty helpful: http://reviews.cnet.com/720p-vs-1080p-hdtv/

A

Anonymous

Wightknight:True Blue:

ÿ