Denon 3808 or Onkyo 875?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I'm looking for an amp and have shortlisted to either the Denon 3808 or the Onkyo 875. I have been reading the product brochures for the Denon and the Onkyo but as a newbie, I'm so confused as to which would be a better system to buy. Does the HQV chip used the the 875 deliver superior pictures compared to the Denon? What about the sound for music and movies? What can we do with the networking capabilities on the Denon? Thanks for your help and opinions!

A

Anonymous

Whilst I can't help you on a A/B comparision on the two amps, (try to have a demo on them) I must say I have been impressed by my 875. It has superb control of music with effortless power, timing and openess. The Onyko is a heavy beast, much of it down to its substantial power transformer of the quality only found on much more expensive equipment. £ for £ nothing comes close to beating it IMHO.

Clare Newsome

Jun 4, 2007
Visit site
I'd go with the Onkyo - the Denon's a great receiver, but the Onkyo's better for audio and video at that price point.

I think it's a shame Denon hasn't chosen to go head-to-head with the 875 or the forthcoming Onkyo 876 with an updated £1000 receiver of its own, as some of the new, cheaper Denons look very promising.

A

Anonymous

[quote user="Clare Newsome"]
I'd go with the Onkyo - the Denon's a great receiver, but the Onkyo's better for audio and video at that price point.

I think it's a shame Denon hasn't chosen to go head-to-head with the 875 or the forthcoming Onkyo 876 with an updated £1000 receiver of its own, as some of the new, cheaper Denons look very promising.

[/quote]

Thanks Clare.

Do you have any news on when the Onkyo 876 will be launched and do you have any information on the specs?

A

Anonymous

Thanks for the info and the link! :)