Complete IPod novice..

grdunn123

Sep 24, 2007
Visit site
As the title suggests I am a complete novice where the IPod is concerned.....I don't actually have one but i'm about to take the plunge! Several questions....

1. Which is the best? I will mainly use it at home plugged in to my Pioneer Amp, sound quality is my main priority.

2.Sound quality...apart from ITunes where can I get music from which will be of a high quality 'bit' wise?

3. Can I rip cd's on to it?

4.I have a big collection of home made cd's which have mp3's on.....can I convert these and put them on an IPod and, if so, how?? I have a laptop running Windows 7 Ultimate.

Thanks!!

kena

May 28, 2008
Visit site
If you have no interest in video MP4 the classic will do otherwise a Touch

Don't think Itunes does quality above 320kbps but a Google will give you high quality downloads from the likes of Linn etc.

Yes you can rip cd's via Itunes or another media player or via EAC (exact audio copy) them import them. Lots of ways to do it.

Files on a Ipod dont need to be Apple lossless or whatever it will play MP3 so you coiuld just import them. Obviously a lossy file AAC/FLAC (IPod doesn't play FLAC) will use up more space but be better quality.

DavieCee

Aug 19, 2010
Visit site
kena:

Don't think Itunes does quality above 320kbps but a Google will give you high quality downloads from the likes of Linn etc.

It does. As long as you are in the right format. I have hundreds of CDs ripped to Apple Lossless at around 1000kbps plus some HD files at 4600 kbps. iTunes on computer will play them all but the iPhone will not play the HD tracks. I assume the pod/touch will be similar.

scene

With iTunes 10 (9.3+ I think) you can rip to Apple lossless and then when you synch to your iPod you can get the synch to transcode to MP3 (128/320 - can't remember, I'm not at home to check).