Cabling for future home cinema system

chrisw333

Mar 7, 2013
Visit site
Hi

Hope you can help - I am completely new to this stuff, so please bear with me. I don't currently have a surround sound system, but would like to get one in the next year or so.

However, I am having my house rewired shortly so it would make sense to run some cabling for surround sound speakers whilst this is being done. Unfortunately, I know nothing at all about these surround sound systems or the best type of cabling to run (for example my old hifi has 4 wires per cable but I see a lot of cables are two wires). I won't be looking at a very high end system when I get one, just decent budget / mid price stuff and accordingly don't want to pay a fortune for the cable, but equally would like it to be of reasonable quality and not necessarily bargain basement.

I would really appreciate advise on what cables I should use (a link would be even better!)

Thanks for your help.

Hi Chris and welcome.

There are hundreds of options, though many manufacturers make something thinner or more flexible for cinema systems (compared with regular stereo/hifi use).

This year's favourite is below, and the link will lead you to other options. The 'default' brand in the UK is probably QED, and unless you are going for a top system, a modest wire from them would be fine, I'd say (I used it for my Denon/KEF system). They do a cinema pack on a reel.

Otherwise, do get the measurements right, and then add 10% for luck (bear in mind the gear is off the floor and you might put rear speakers high up the walls).

http://www.whathifi.com/review/audioquest-flx-slip-144

chrisw333

Mar 7, 2013
Visit site
Thanks very much for your reply, it's really appreciated. So it's plain two wire speaker cable.

Would this do the trick or should I go for something a little better?

QED 79 Strand - http://www.audiovisualonline.co.uk/product/2709/qed-79-strand-speaker-cable (@£1.50)

or should I go for something a little better? - eg