Bookshelf Speaker Advice/Comparison

12oner

Jun 16, 2020
Visit site
Hi all,

I'm quite new to this. I'm looking to get a pair of bookshelf speakers for up to £200ish. I've whittled it down to the following options

ELAC Debut B5.2
Dali Spektor 2
Wharfedale Diamond 220

A little context of what i'm looking for

Music - my taste is quite mixed, i'll be looking to play everything from, jazz, house/funk, heavy rock, quite demanding electronic music (Aphex Twin/Jungle) to lighter, more soundscape stuff.

Room - The speakers will be set up in a 4m x 3.8m room. They will be sat on a book shelf (about a foot and a half deep). I might buy stands in the future but don't plan to at this moment in time.

Speaker sound - I think i'd like something verging on a 'warm' sound, I don't want anything too clean.

Some of my thoughts -

Can anyone give a comparison on how these speakers sound differ against each other?

I've read that the Wharfedale's have a very warm sound, can user confirm this?

I'm looking to spend about £200/300 on an amp, will an amp at that price range be sufficient to get good quality from all of these speakers?

Do any of these perform great at low volumes? Will be playing fairly loud but also live in a flat.

Sorry for so many questions, i've read a whole heap of articles online but still can't decide. Any advise would be hugely appreciated!

Thank you!!

daytona600

£200 speakers & £500 on amps have you considered £500+ active monitors excellent on EDM & Rock
£700 will get you a superb set of small monitors & add a Dac/pre as a source for under £1000 for a compact quality system

Reactions: Al ears

12oner

Jun 16, 2020
Visit site
Hi,

Really appreciate your reply. Sorry if i was unclear, I was looking at spending a max £200-£300 on an amp, so my max combine budget for amp and speakers is £500.

I don't think many small speakers play well at low volume and certainly not in the position you intend to use them in.