Bluesound/Rega/ATC all sounds very harsh

Tashley

Mar 1, 2023
Visit site
Hi all, Newbie here….

I’ve had a Bluesound Node 2i feeding a Rega Elicit R and ATC SMC 19’s for a while and honestly, I’ve never really liked the sound. It’s a torrent of harshness to my ears, though TBF running my Planar 2 through the Rega phono stage sounds warmer but still not as musical and natural as I’d like. But it does sound great into my old Sennheisers through a little handmade German valve headphone amp that a friend lent me - can’t remember the manufacturer’s name.

So I guess that there’s something I don’t like in some part of the Blue/Rega/ATC chain. I kind of thought it would improve as it burned in but it hasn’t.

Additionally I don’t like the Rega: it‘s input select method is madness and its pretentious purity of purpose (no tone controls) seems arsey above its pay grade.

So I could either:

Add an external DAC like a Chord Qutest between the Node and the Rega
or
Ditch the node for something like a Naim ND5XS2 but keep the rest
or
Buy a Naim Uniti Atom or a Cambridge EVO 150 and run them into the ATCs whilst bunging the Node and the Rega on eBay.

I nearly only listen via Qobuz.

I’d really appreciate peoples’ thoughts on what might be the best way to get a more musical output within a reasonable budget - I could spend £2,500 but would prefer to spend about £1,500

One final thing: the Rega buzzes when attached to the Rega. They’ve both been to the dealer and they say it’s within normal limits and their Rega/Elicit combo does this same, as do my components when paired with theirs, but I think I need a phono stage and the Cambridge has one built in, which saves a bit.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:

as286

May 12, 2011
Visit site