Bi-curious? Hmm.

Jim-W

Jul 29, 2013
Visit site
This is a weird one and I'll be as brief as I can. It's about bi-wirng which, after 40+ years of hi-fi experience and tinkering, I don't believe offers any improvement in sound quality:physics supports this view and you can read a million articles on the net debunking hi-fi myths which I tend to find conclusive because I'm no scientist. Quite the reverse, in fact.

OK. Small room, used as an office, about 7 feet by 13 feet, thought it would be nice to have record player etc in but limited expectations because of size of room, speaker placement etc and it's not my main system. Speakers fire down the room from tight up to the walls and corners-there's no alternative so I used a Quad 34/fm4/306 which has decent tone controls to help minimise bass boom. Not ideal, but it sounds fine for a thrown together system. Speakers are the old MA BR's (on decent stands) and record player is an old Revolver with Jelco arm and AT 110e cart.

The wiring was QED balanced concept speaker cable about £3 per metre at a guess; I had replaced the jumpers in the MA's with QED cable so it was single cable feeding in. Yesterday I replaced the QED with some ancient Audioquest hyperlitz Indigo directional (!) bi-wiring cable that I found in the loft; some of you may remember that this is solid copper and not multi-stranded cable. I expected to hear no difference whatsoever because I don't believe expensive cables and bi-wiring make any difference.Yes, you don't want bell wire but I've always thought that £3 a metre stuff is adequate and that bi-wiring is a hi-fi myth propagated by manufacterers keen on selling 'snake oil.'