Best speakers for an Onkyo TX8050?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Ok,

So after reading previos posts and calling a number of shops it seems I will order the Onkyo TX8050.

Now I need to think about speakers. What speakers would you guys pair with the TX8050. I listem a bit of everything but mostly 60' and 70's rock, soul, reggae, country folk and to a lesser extent classical and jazz. My room is quite large (7 meters X 10 meters) and with high ceilings (in some parts the ceiling is 2.5 meter high and in others it opens up to a 3rd foor height of probably 7.5 meters or so). The floor are clay (terracota) tiles (no rugs, no wood - probabaly tiles are not the best for music listening). I therfore think I need some floorstander speakers for a bit of added power given that the room is relatively big but I may be wrong here- I am just a newbie on this :) So feel free to correct me.

I ma not a sound freak to be honest. As i say i am a newbe and probably it is still easy to please my ears :)

My budget is 250-350 pounds although i could go up to 400 or so if needed.

Unfortunately I do not have nay good Hifi shops close buy that would let me test some speakers so I need to rely on this forum's wisdom :)

I was looking at Tannoys Mercury V4s.

Thanks for your advise!

jonomd

Nov 13, 2010
Visit site
Hi, I tried onkyo Tx8050 with 2 speakers. Tannoy M1 and Dali Lektor 2. Not the same speaker but thought it worked well with the tannoy. Not so with the Dali Lektors. Used in a much smaller roon though. Buying blind not ideal but Tannoy V4 would look a fair choice.

A

Anonymous

Thanks jonomd!

Just another question. I do not have an smartphone (no iPhone nor Android). Could you tell me how easy/cumbersome is to control the spotify player in the TX8050 if you do not have an smartphone? Can I use the remote control, or latrenatively, could I use my laptop to control Spotify playing?

Thanks!

jonomd

Nov 13, 2010
Visit site