Best all in one turntable or cheap set up for a 16 year old beginner

adam4487

Apr 20, 2014
Visit site
Hi all, sorry for any mistakes/misposts i may have made (im new here!)

I have recently become intrested in collecting vinyls and since i have no experience in the area or much of a budget im not sure what to buy! Should I buy an all in one turntable/speaker system or invest more money in seperate parts? I have a budget of about £200. I realise it is not much of a budget but id like to see if i like it before splashing out! any suggestions?

thanks all :)

To be perfectly honest you are going to find it very difficult to buy everything you need with the money you are talking about.

You are definitely going to have to spend wisely. Most likely second hand.

Richer sounds have a couple of clearance turntables in their sale. Other than that , look for a used Project tt. An arcam alpha amp with a phono stage in it and maybe some cheap mission/ mordant short speakers off ebay.

This may give you a taste of vinyl but it's not going to blow you away.

Have a really good shop around. Good luck.

matthewpiano

Ebay is your friend.

Dual turntable - CS505 or CS503 will do fine. Pair with any decent 2nd hand NAD, Denon, Marantz, or Rotel amp with a phono stage. Then add some speakers - Mission 760, Mordaunt-Short MS10 or MS20, JPW Sonata.

For less than £200 you'll have a musical system and the scope to upgrade slowly over time.

matthewpiano

adam4487 said:
Thankyou! the Dual CS503-2, is there a brand name as i cant find it online?

again sorry for my niavity

'Dual' is the brand name. German turntable manufacturer.

You'll need to buy all of these 2nd hand. It really is the best way with your budget. Search Ebay, but be prepared to keep looking over the course of a couple of weeks until something in nice condition comes up.

swlivesley

Sep 19, 2012
Visit site
Try some charity shops and even Cash Converters / Gumtree